Breaking News
More () »

Here's who's on the ballot for Iowa's 2022 midterm elections in the QC

Don't know who's on the ballot for the lesser-known races this election? Here are the candidates on the Iowa ballots this year.

MOLINE, Ill. — Polls in Iowa close at 8 p.m. Tuesday night. Click/tap here for election results.

The 2022 midterms are approaching rapidly, and voters are preparing to decide who gets their vote in this critical election.

Some voters may be unfamiliar with many of the candidates in down-ballot state elections that don't get as much as much advertising or attention from the media.

Here are the state-level candidates Iowans will see on their ballots this election.

RELATED: Here's what you need to know before the 2022 midterm elections

Find all race results for Iowa below: 

Attorney general

Tom Miller (D)

Brenna Bird (R)

The Race: Miller has served as Iowa's attorney general since 1979, aside from a brief hiatus between 1991 and 1995. Miller's campaign priorities, as stated on his official website, are holding big tech companies accountable, defending consumers from supporting Iowa farmers and combating tobacco addiction. 

The Dubuque native is contested by GOP candidate, lawyer Brenna Bird. Bird has been the county for Guthrie County since 2018. She also served as counsel to former Gov. Terry Branstad, and then Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds.

RELATED: Here's what you need to know about the Iowa Attorney General race

Secretary of State

Paul Pate (R)

Joel Miller (D)

The Race: The Secretary of State race features two-term incumbent Paul Pate versus democratic challenger Joel Miller. Also currently serving as Iowa's Commissioner of Elections, Pate has held office since 2015, now running for his third term. Pate's campaign priorities include increasing voter registration and participation, ensuring safe and secure elections and eliminating human trafficking.

Miller, an Independence native, served in the U.S. Army from 1977 to 1980. He's currently serving as Linn County auditor, a position he's held since 2007. He's also a former chair of the Linn County Democratic Central Committee. Miller's campaign is focused on election reform, as he hopes to make voting more accessible to Iowans.

RELATED: 2022 Iowa Secretary of State race: what you need to know


Michael Fitzgerald (D) 

Roby Smith (R) 

The Race: Iowa's treasurer race features long-time incumbent Michael L. Fitzgerald running against GOP challenger and state senator Roby Smith. A- Marshalltown native, Fitzgerald has served as treasurer since 1983, making him the longest-serving state treasurer in the country. Fitzgerald's main campaign agenda for this election is to help Iowans gain access to retirement plans and to educate Iowans about retirement planning.

Smith has been the state senator of District 47 since 2011. According to his campaign website, Smith's core campaign issues include promoting financial literacy education, supporting families of individuals with disabilities, combating federal intelligence programs and diverting Iowa tax dollars from countries that support terrorism.

Secretary of Agriculture

Mike Naig (R)

John Norwood (D)

The Race: The race for Iowa Secretary of Agriculture pits incumbent Mike Naig against democratic challenger John Norwood. Naig first assumed the position in 2018. Before assuming office, Naig served as the deputy secretary of agriculture from 2013 to 2018. According to Naig's campaign website, he's focused on expanding markets and trade, improving water quality and soil health and ensuring that agricultural efforts are sustainable and beneficial for future generations of farmers. 

Norwood is currently the Soil & Water Commissioner for Polk County. Norwood is also a small business owner, business advisor and board director. According to Norwood, "The biggest public policy challenges of our time include addressing our changing climate while building a "balanced" and "resilient" food and agricultural system that can deliver clean water, healthy soils, thriving communities." 

State Senate District 35

Chris Cournoyer (R)

Jed Ganzer (D)

The Race: The race for state senate district 35 features republican Chris Cournoyer and democrat Jed Ganzer. Senate District 35 encompasses Clinton County and parts of Scott and Jackson County. 

Cournoyer is a self-employed web designer and developer. Cournoyer is also the president of the Pleasant Valley School Board. Cournoyer's main issues include investing in education, supporting law enforcement, sparking economic growth and economics education. 

Ganzer, a DeWitt resident, is a member of the Davenport Education Association and serves on the labor-management team. He also owns his own small business, Jed Ganzer Roofer.

State Senate District 41

Kerry Gruenhagen (R)

Deb VanderGaast (D)

The Race: The race for Senate District 41 features republican Kerry Gruenhagen and democrat Deb VanderGaast. District 41 encompasses much of northern and western Scott County, most of Cedar County and northern Muscatine County.  

Gruenhagen's top campaign initiatives are economic freedom, educational freedom, supporting first responders and providing a voice for Iowa's rural communities. VanderGaast's top priorities include raising Iowa's minimum wage, supporting early childhood programs, increasing education funding, affordable health care and fighting for social justice. 

State House District 69

Tom Determann (R)

Jennifer Hansen (D)

The Race: The race for House District 69 sets republican Tom Determann against democrat Jennifer Hansen. The district encompasses the City of Clinton and most of Clinton County. Determann is a Clinton County native and current county supervisor. He previously served as a city councilman, businessman and in the U.S. Army. 

State House District 81

Luana Stoltenberg (R)

Craig Cooper (D)

The Race: House District 81 sets republican Luana Stoltenberg against democrat Craig Cooper. The district covers parts of northern and western Scott County. Stoltenberg's top issues include economic freedom, protecting the second amendment, supporting law enforcement and backing anti-abortion policy. 

Cooper is an Iowa native and has lived in Davenport since 1978. He recently retired as a senior communications specialist at Genesis Health System. He currently serves on the Davenport Public Library Board of Trustees. Cooper's priorities are improving public education funding, protecting natural resources, investing in healthcare and protecting reproductive freedom.

State House District 96

Mark Cisneros (R)

Michelle Servadio Elias (D)

The Race: GOP candidate Mark Cisneros has lived in Muscatine since 2008, owning Muscatine's Shop 2 Drop and West Liberty's Bella Boutique. He currently works in the transportation industry, delivering fuel in the local area. Cisneros will face off with Michelle Servadio Elias, who ran uncontested in the Democratic primary. Neither candidate has held elected office. 

State House District 99:

Dennis Cohoon (D)

Mathew Rinker (R)

The Race: Cohoon, a Burlington native, is currently serving his 18th term in the Iowa House, first being elected to the house in 1998. He retired in 2010 after teaching special education in the Burlington School District for 32 years. The retired teacher ran uncontested in the Democratic primary. Cohoon will face off with Matthew Rinker, who won the Republican primary in June over TJ Widbin. Rinker previously ran for Iowa senate district 44, but lost the primary to Tim Goodwin.  

For more News 8 elections coverage, click/tap here.

Download the WQAD News 8 App 
Subscribe to our newsletter 
Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Watch more election coverage on News 8's YouTube channel

Before You Leave, Check This Out