Breaking News
More () »

These eastern Iowa counties have issued burn bans due to dry conditions

Scott and Muscatine counties have lifted their burn bans ahead of July 4th.

SCOTT COUNTY, Iowa — Update: As of July 1, Cedar County lifted its burn ban. As of July 3, Clinton County lifted its burn ban. There are no active burn bans in eastern Iowa.

Update: As of June 26, Muscatine County lifted its burn ban. As of June 30, Scott County lifted its burn ban. 

Clinton County, IA, has joined several other eastern Iowa counties to request a burn ban from the Iowa State Fire Marshal. These include Scott, Muscatine and Cedar counties. 

That means open burning is prohibited until further notice. The Scott County Emergency Management Agency said current conditions and concerns include dry weather, low relative humidity and dried vegetation. 

The state fire marshal's website has a burn ban tracker that is updated with documents for each request, ban and lift. 

If you ignore the burn ban, you could be charged with a simple misdemeanor. 

According to Iowa law, the consequences of a simple misdemeanor include a fine of at least $105 but not to exceed $855. The court may order imprisonment not to exceed 30 days in lieu of a fine or in addition to a fine.

Download the WQAD News 8 App 
Subscribe to our newsletter 
Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Watch more news, weather and sports on News 8's YouTube channel

Before You Leave, Check This Out