Breaking News
More () »

Quad Cities counties recognized as 'StormReady' communities

Scott and Rock Island counties are officially "StormReady" based on increased efforts in severe weather preparedness.

MOLINE, Ill. — The National Weather Service has officially recognized Scott and Rock Island counties as "StormReady" communities. The StormReady program has been around since 1999 and today, there are over 3,000 sites nationwide. Sites range from counties to universities to government sites. 

“It will help enhance public awareness of severe weather. This will help ensure trained storm spotters to observe the weather and it also helps to ensure the more frequent and easy exchange of information during severe weather" said Rich Kinney, Warning Coordination Meteorologist at the National Weather Service. 

Rich also stated that this makes the information that goes into our warnings more reliable. 

Being recognized as StormReady means a community has gone above and beyond to make sure they are ready to keep residents informed and safe during all types of severe weather. To become StormReady, a community must follow guidelines and prove that they have an effective plan in place. Things like establishing a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center, as well as having multiple ways to alert and inform the public are necessary. 

The process can take weeks to months as officials of the National Weather Service survey applicants to see if they meet the criteria. The recognition will be valid for four years and can be renewed. 

To learn more on how to become a StormReady member you can visit their website here

Download the WQAD News 8 App 
Subscribe to our newsletter 
Subscribe to our YouTube channel 

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out