x
Breaking News
More () »

Marching Leathernecks perform in Pearl Harbor Memorial Ceremony

The Western Illinois marching band will perform Tuesday in the Pearl Harbor Memorial Ceremony and Parade in Hawaii.
Credit: Western Illinois University, Rachael Keating
Western Illinois Marching Leathernecks

HONOLULU — On the 80th anniversary of the Pearl Harbor attacks, the Western Illinois Marching Leathernecks will be among bands performing Tuesday in the national memorial ceremony and parade in Hawaii.

The festivities will honor WWII veterans and Pearl Harbor survivors from the attacks of Dec. 7, 1941.

"Between the patriotic experience, performing music in this living memorial, to our veterans and the absolute paradise of a location, is the perfect dream of a trip for our students," WIU Associate Director of Bands Matt Thomas said.

Events are scheduled for 4 p.m. Hawaii Time (8 p.m. Central), followed by a parade at 6 p.m. Hawaii Time (10 p.m. Central).

A live stream of the ceremonies can be found here.

Participants are attending from nearly every state in the nation in the events hosted by Historic Programs.

The non-profit organization has produced these types of "Living Memorials" over the past two decades, highlighting the past and celebrating the future while honoring the contributions of those who made a positive impact on the world.

Historic Programs said these events have been recognized by government officials, international, and organizations as the, "most comprehensive and meaningful programs for our participants, for those we honor and for the thousands of appreciative spectators."

There have not been any updates on whether or not the current winter storm taking place in Hawaii will have an impact on the scheduled ceremonies. The unusually strong winter storm is reportedly raising threats of flash floods, landslides and crashing tree limbs on the Hawaiian Islands.